Luganos Osigwe is convened for the first time in Nigeria when...

Luganos Osigwe is convened for the first time in Nigeria when...
Luganos Osigwe is convened for the first time in Nigeria when...

Gernot Rohr has added the Swiss goalkeeper to his squad ahead of the double-headed qualification against the Leone Stars next month

Sebastian Osigwe made his first call-up in Nigeria ahead of the African Cup of Nations qualification in November with Sierra Leone, while Victor Osimhen and Joe Aribo return to the squad.

The Swiss-born goalkeeper last represented the country at the U20 level, where he was part of John Obuh’s team at the 2013 Toulon tournament. However, he did not make the cut of the Flying Eagles for the U20 World Cup in Turkey.

In the 2020/21 Swiss Super League, the 26-year-old played four times for Lugano and conceded six goals. Even so, he would hope to beat Daniel Akpeyi and Maduka Okoye to earn his first cap.

Napoli’s Victor Osimhen and Rangers’ Joe Aribo are back on the team after missing last week’s game against Algeria and Tunisia. They join the regular selection of Ahmed Musa, William Troost-Ekong and Alex Iwobi in the 24-team roster.

APOEL goalkeeper Francis Uzoho makes headlines over the seven players put on standby. Others are Abdullahi Shehu, Ramon Azeez, Samson Tijani, Paul Onuachu, Kelechi Nwakali, and Ikechukwu Ezenwa.

The Super Eagles will face the Leone Stars at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium in Benin City on November 13, before heading to Freetown for the second leg four days later.

With six points from two games, Nigeria leads Group L with six points and victory in both games secures the three-time African champions a place at Afcon 2022 in Cameroon.


Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Sebastian Osigwe (FC Lugano, Switzerland); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, Netherlands)

Verteidiger: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spanish); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Schottland); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); William Ekong (FC Watford, England); Olaoluwa Aina (FC Fulham, England); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Deutschland); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim, Deutschland)

Midfilders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Galatasaray, Turkey); Tyronne Ebuehi (FC Twente, The Netherlands); Frank Onyeka (FC Midtjylland, Denmark); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland)

Forward: Ahmed Musa (not connected); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Emmanuel Dennis Bonaventure (Club Bruges, Belgium); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal CF, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia)

Standby: Francis Uzoho (APOEL Nikosia, Zypern); Samson Tijani (TSV Hartberg, )sterreich); Abdullahi Shehu (Omonia Nicosia, Zypern); Ramon Azeez (CF Granada, Spain); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC Heartland); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium)

These were the details of the news Luganos Osigwe is convened for the first time in Nigeria when... for this day. We hope that we have succeeded by giving you the full details and information. To follow all our news, you can subscribe to the alerts system or to one of our different systems to provide you with all that is new.

It is also worth noting that the original news has been published and is available at and the editorial team at AlKhaleej Today has confirmed it and it has been modified, and it may have been completely transferred or quoted from it and you can read and follow this news from its main source.

NEXT Australian defender Aziz Behich becomes Ronaldo’s new teammate at Al-Nassr