A claim by a specific Oculus user whose deleted Facebook account is linked to an Oculus accessory warns those who are thinking of deleting their social media account.
The Twitter user CixLiv caused a stir on the platform when he published what happens when a Facebook account that is linked to an Oculus account is to be deleted.
“Deleting your Facebook account will also delete your Oculus information. This includes your app purchases and achievements. You can no longer return apps and you will lose existing credits. ”
The implication is bound to pucker some feathers. Especially those who just want to log out of the social media platform and not the VR experience. The latter seems to be a huge loss to the user given the financial investments required for the experience.
Applies to bound accounts only
While really worrying, it appears that the problem has a caveat as well.
A report by UploadVR states that those whose Facebook and Oculus accounts are segregated don’t have a similar problem. It is suggested that those whose accounts are not linked can freely delete their social media account with no similar effect.
Facebook recently introduced a rule this month requiring users of Oculus headsets to have a Facebook account. Even up to the new version of Oculus Quest 2.
However, Oculus users don’t have to adopt the newly mandated rule in an instant. Existing users still have until January 1, 2023 to do the shift they will be reminded of when the date approaches.
Meanwhile, many users are also reporting an issue where they cannot link their Facebook account to their headset. An issue that apparently occurs with users who have created a special account specifically for use with Oculus. In the absence of the credentials required to use the Oculus headset, the owners cannot use their rather expensive peripherals.
Given the problem, Facebook is reminding everyone of the applicable terms and conditions. Indication of the fact that those who would violate the rules of the social media platform will be sanctioned. In particular, those who use a pseudonym instead of a real name, among other things, will be punished. One that prevents them from accessing the VR service.
Image courtesy of Oculus / YouTube screenshot
Mickey Reader – Receive a 10% discount on FTX and Binance trading fees when you sign up using the links above.
These were the details of the news Deleting a linked Facebook account will also result in the loss... for this day. We hope that we have succeeded by giving you the full details and information. To follow all our news, you can subscribe to the alerts system or to one of our different systems to provide you with all that is new.
It is also worth noting that the original news has been published and is available at de24.news and the editorial team at AlKhaleej Today has confirmed it and it has been modified, and it may have been completely transferred or quoted from it and you can read and follow this news from its main source.