The Blaugrana club announced a little later that they would “appeal against the sanction” imposed on Messi.
In the lost 3-2 game against Athletic Bilbao, the Blaugranas captain was penalized with a direct red card for the first time in his professional career in the shirt of Barca, with whom he made 753 appearances.
A few seconds before the final whistle (120th), Messi slapped the Basque striker Asier Villalibre with his right hand, with whom he had just clung.
According to the Spanish statistician Alexis Martin-Tamayo, the Argentine star was last excluded with the Blaugrana jersey fifteen years ago (in 2005), but it was during a match of the Spanish 3rd division, between Pena Sport and the reserve team of FC Barcelona.
Messi has also already been ruled twice with the Argentina squad, in his big debut and in the Copa America semi-final against Chile in 2019.
#suspension #matches #Messi #exclusion #Supercopa
These were the details of the news Two suspension matches for Messi after his exclusion from the Supercopa for this day. We hope that we have succeeded by giving you the full details and information. To follow all our news, you can subscribe to the alerts system or to one of our different systems to provide you with all that is new.
It is also worth noting that the original news has been published and is available at en24 news and the editorial team at AlKhaleej Today has confirmed it and it has been modified, and it may have been completely transferred or quoted from it and you can read and follow this news from its main source.